User Activity History Expiration

The User Activity Log feature on Brosix networks helps users to keep track of and recall their communication. In order for this feature to operate properly, User Activity is stored on Brosix servers, as is common practice with the majority of IM applications.

Customers who would like to set a time limit on how long User Activity is archived may do so through the Expiration option in the Web Control Panel. This option allows network administrators to choose the length of time that their network’s User Activity will be saved on Brosix servers. After this period the history will be deleted. The five choices for expiration periods are: 1 day, 7 days, 1 month, 3 months and “Default”.

Please note: Choosing a short expiration period will lead to decreased functionality in several features. One of the affected services will be the Offline Messaging feature – if users are offline longer than the expiration period they will not receive any messages sent to them. For example, if the expiration period is one day and a user is offline for two days after a message is sent to them, that message will be erased before delivery.

For this reason, Brosix recommends setting an expiration period of 1 month or longer. For your convenience, there is an option “Default” which will configure User Activity deletion to optimal values in order to make sure that all services in your Team network function properly.